67 colleges now under federal investigation for handling of sexual assault cases

67 colleges now under federal investigation for handling of sexual assault cases

The U.S. Department of Education has added 12 colleges and universities to its growing list of institutions being investigated for their handling of sexual abuse allegations, USA Today reported.

In May, the Department of Education’s Office for Civil Rights (OCR) announced the names of schools under investigation for possible violations of Title IX, a federal law that prohibits gender discrimination at institutions that receive federal financial assistance.

Under federal law, sexual violence refers to physical sexual acts perpetrated against a person’s will or where a person is incapable of giving consent — including rape, sexual assault, sexual battery, sexual abuse and sexual coercion.

According to the OCR, releasing this list advances a key goal of the White House Task Force to Protect Students from Sexual Assault to bring more transparency to the federal government’s enforcement activities around this issue. The Department pledged to update the log on a weekly basis.

The full list of colleges and universities under investigation for possible Title IX violations as of July 3rd, 2014 is below:

• University of Alaska system of higher education — 5/5/2014
• Arizona State University
• Butte-Glen Community College District
• Occidental College
• University of California-Berkeley
• University of Southern California
• Regis University
• University of Colorado at Boulder
• University of Colorado at Denver
• University of Denver
• University of Connecticut
• University of Delaware
• Catholic University of America
• Florida State University
• Emory University
• University of Hawaii at Manoa
• University of Idaho
• Knox College
• University of Chicago
• Indiana University-Bloomington
• Vincennes University
• Boston University
• Emerson College
• Harvard College
• Harvard Law
• Amherst College
• Berklee College of Music
• University of Massachusetts-Amherst
• Frostburg State University
• Michigan State University
• University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
• Missouri University of Science & Technology
• Guilford College
• University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
• Minot State University
• Dartmouth College
• Princeton University
• City University of New York – Hunter College
• Hobart & William Smith Colleges
• Elmira College
• Sarah Lawrence College
• State University of New York at Binghamton
• Denison University
• Ohio State University
• University of Akron
• Wittenberg University
• Oklahoma State University
• Carnegie Mellon University
• Franklin & Marshall College
• Pennsylvania State University
• Swarthmore College
• Temple University
• Vanderbilt University
• Southern Methodist University
• Cisco Junior College
• University of Texas-Pan American
• College of William & Mary
• University of Virginia
• James Madison University
• University of Richmond
• Washington State University
• University of Wisconsin-Whitewater
• Bethany College
• West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine

Watch Jeff Herman discuss campus sexual assault with Laura Dunn, founder of SurvJustice, and Tracey Vitchers, communications coordinator for SAFER:

Related Posts